Honoured guests at NanoLab’s 10 Year Anniverary. From left: rector of NTNU, Gunnar Bovim, the Minister of Education and Research, Torbjørn Røe Isaksen, Director of NTNU NanoLab Kay Gastinger, the head of the board for NanoLab, Anne Borg, and the dean of Faculty of Information Technology, Mathematics and Electrical Engineering, Geir Øien). Photo: Per Henning, NTNU

NTNU NanoLab celebrates 10 years of research
November 21, 2014

NTNU NanoLab celebrated its 10 year anniversary with a two days seminar at Britannia hotel in Trondheim 10 – 11 November. Invited, prominent researchers internationally and nationally, together with key persons during the founding process in 2003-2004, were present. Even the Minister of Education and Research, Torbjørn Røe Isaksen, found time in a busy schedule to give congratulatory remarks during the first day of conference. NTNU’s rector called the NanoLab initiative a success and launched NANO@NTNU as the new name of NTNU’s strategic initiative for nanoscience, nanotechnology and functional materials from 2015. Bjørn Torger Stokke and Kay Gastinger presented the development of NTNU NanoLab over the last ten years.

The Research Council of Norway has contributed strongly with investments in equipment at NTNU NanoLab, and was represented by Aase Marie Hundere, program coordinator for NANO 2021. SINTEF and the organisation for master students in nanotechnology at NTNU, TiMiNi, concluded the morning session.

After lunch, a session introduced future perspectives for the further development of NANO@NTNU. Invited guests gave insight into their fields: Miriam Luizink from University of Twente gave a talk about entrepreneurship connected to nanotechnology research at Twente, and Lars Samuelson from Lund University talked about the Nanometer Structure Consortium at Lund. NTNU has over the past 10 years allocated 4 scientific positions for the strategic development of nanotechnology research at NTNU. Their research results were presented in a dedicated scientific session. The remaining presentations gave insight into current research at NTNU NanoLab and Lars Samuelson gave an invited talk on nanowires. In addition to this, a poster presentation was held on Monday evening.

The day was concluded with a lovely dinner at the stately restaurant Palmehaven.

Tuesday gave room for a full day of scientific presentations, in most part research from NTNU, but also from invited guests that comprised Sèverine Le Gac from University of Twente, Paula Vilarinho, University of Aveiro, Hans Mooij, University of Delft, and Jeppe Lauritsen, Aarhus Universitet.

NTNU NanoLab would like to thank all guests and participants for a great 10 year anniversary conference – and looks with anticipation forward to the next 10 years.