From left: Ole Henrik Sejersted, Christoph Gerber, Anne Borg, Gunnar Bovim, Kay Gastinger and Gerd Binnig . Photo: Åge Hojem/Vitenskapsmuseet

Kavli Prize Events 2016 at NTNU, Thursday 8 September
October 7, 2016

The Kavli Prize 2016 in Nanoscience was awarded to Calvin Quate, Gerd Binnig and Christoph Gerber “for the invention and realization of atomic force microscopy, a breakthrough in measurement technology and nanosculpting that continues to have a transformative impact on nanoscience and technology.”
After the prize ceremony and lectures in Oslo, Gerd Binnig and Christoph Gerber visited NTNU to give official lectures and participate in the festive events in Trondheim.
The Kavli Prize Symposia in Nanoscience was followed by 260 participants.

Facts about the Kavli Prizes:
The Kavli Prize is a partnership between The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, The Kavli Foundation (US) and The Norwegian Ministry of Education and Research.
The Kavli Prize is awarded biannually in recognition of seminal advances in three research areas: astrophysics, nanoscience and neuroscience. The prize consists of USD 1,000,000 in each of the scientific fields.
The Kavli Prize ceremony and lectures take place in in Oslo. After the events in Oslo, the laureates in nano- and neuroscience visit NTNU to give official prize lectures and participate in the Kavli Prize Events in Trondheim.


Download the Kavli Prize Symposia 2016 Program (PDF)
Download the Kavli Prize Laureate Lectures 2016 Program (PDF)